Organisational Structure

The Department of Finance has a central role in implementing government policy and in advising and supporting the government on the economic and financial management of the State, and policies to ensure that Ireland's financial system will be able to operate on a stable, sustainable and commercial basis.

The work of the Department is carried out by four divisions and two offices as illustrated in the chart below. Further information is available in the Who we are section.

The Framework of Assignments outlines the assignment of responsibilities by the Secretary General for the performance of functions under Section 4(1) of the Public Service Management Act 1997.  This information is also available on


Assignment of Responsibilities under the Public Service Management Act 1997